Mono County Local Transportation Commission

PO Box 347 Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 760.924.1800 phone, 924.1801 fax <u>commdev@mono.ca.gov</u> PO Box 8 Bridgeport, CA 93517 760.932.5420 phone, 932.5431 fax www.monocounty.ca.gov

Minutes

June 13, 2022 – 9:00 A.M.

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS: Jennifer Kreitz, John Peters, Rhonda Duggan TOWN COMMISSIONERS: Bill Sauser, Dan Holler, John Wentworth COUNTY STAFF: Gerry LeFrancois, Haislip Hayes, Heidi Willson, Bentley Regehr, Wendy Sugimura, Deanna Tuetken CALTRANS: Dennee Alcala, Jacob Burkholder, Neil Peacock ESTA: Phil Moores Public: Paul, Sandy Hogan

- 1. CALL TO ORDER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE- Meeting called to order at 9:03 am and the commission recited the pledge of allegiance.
- **2. PUBLIC COMMENT:** Opportunity to address the LTC on items not on the agenda. Please refer to the Teleconference information section to determine how to make public comment for this meeting.
 - Hayes announced that Paul Chang will be appointed by Town Council to sit on the LTC Commission.

*Motion to add "urgent" agenda item

Co-Executive Director Sugimura explained that she had received information from the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC) on June 10 regarding SB 2438, and is requesting the LTC consider a letter of opposition.

Motion: I move that the Commission determine that there is a need to take immediate action with respect to the proposed agenda item, that the need for action came to the County's attention subsequent to the agenda being posted and, therefore, that the commission add the item to agenda. Kreitz motioned; Holler seconded

Roll Call: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

Chair Wentworth asked that the item be added section 5

3. CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

a) Approval of minutes from May 9, 2022
Motion: Approve minutes of special meeting April 11, 2022, and regular meeting April 11, 2022.
Sauser motioned; Kreitz seconded.
Roll Call- Ayes: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

4. ADMINISTRATION

a) Resolution of Appreciation for Gerry LeFrancois

COMMISSIONERS

Jennifer Kreitz John Peters Rhonda Duggan John Wentworth Bill Sauser Dan Holler

Motion: Approve of Resolution of Application for Gerry LeFrancois. Kreitz motioned; Sauser seconded. Roll Call- Ayes: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

5. LOCAL TRANSPORTATION

a) FY 22-23 State Transit Assistance (STA) allocation consideration and approval by Resolution 22-06 (*Deanna Tuetken*)

Motion: Approve resolution 22-06.

Sauser motioned; Kreitz seconded.

Roll Call- Ayes: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

b) FY 22-23 Local Transportation Funds (LTF) allocation consideration and approval by Resolution 22-07 (*Deanna Tuetken*)

Motion: Approve resolution 22-07.

Duggan motioned; Holler seconded.

Roll Call- Ayes: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

c) Consider authorizing Chair to sign Audit Engagement Letter for fiscal year ending on June 30, 2022 (*Deanna Tuetken*)

Motion: To allow Chair to sign the Audit Engagement letter.

Sauser motioned; Peters seconded.

Roll Call- Ayes: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

 d) Discussion of California Transportation Assessment Report Pursuant to AB 285 (Commissioner Kreitz, Bentley Regehr) Regehr gave a presentation and answered questions from the commission. Commissioner Kreitz requested that staff draft a letter to sent to educate state about the rural communities. Commissioner Sauser agrees that a letter is appropriate. Commissioner Duggan agrees that a letter is a great idea but wants to make sure that we

Commissioner Duggan agrees that a letter is a great idea but wants to make sure tha use examples that the county's

e) Consider approving letter of opposition to AB 2237 (Friedman) requiring ranking of transportation project funding with climate goals and authorize Chair to sign (Wendy Sugimura)

Sugimura gave a presentation and answered questions from the commission. **Motion:** Approve provided draft letter with changes and authorize chair to sign. Wentworth motioned; Holler seconded.

Roll Call- Ayes: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

f) Urgency Item: Consider approving a letter of opposition to AB 2438.

Motion: Approve staff draft a letter in opposition to AB2438 and authorize Chair to sign. Holler motioned; Sauser seconded.

Roll Call- Ayes: Sauser, Kreitz, Holler, Duggan, Peters, Wentworth. Motion carries 6-0

6. CALTRANS

- a) Update on Caltrans activities in Mono County (Caltrans staff)
 - Burkholder gave a Caltrans update and answer questions from the commission.

COMMISSIONERS

Jennifer Kreitz John Peters Rhonda Duggan John Wentworth Bill Sauser Dan Holler

7. MONO COUNTY

- a) Workshop on the Mono County Resource Efficiency Plan, greenhouse gas emissions inventory update and CEQA streamlining, and Vehicle Miles Traveled CEQA thresholds (*Bentley Regehr*)
 - Regehr and Sugimura gave a presentation and answered questions from the commission.

8. TRANSIT

- a) ESTA Update (Phil Moores)
 - Moores gave an ESTA update and answered questions from the commission.
- b) YARTS Update (Christine Chavez)
 - YARTS was unable to attend.

9. CORRESPONDENCE

10. REPORTS

- a) **Director-** Sugimura and Hayes gave a report and answered questions.
- b) Commissioners- Duggan, Holler, and Kreitz gave a report.

11. INFORMATIONAL

12. UPCOMING AGENDA ITEMS

- a) Update on transportation/trails projects from Eastern Sierra Council of Governments
- b) Update on Successor MOU agreement, meeting with Kern COG staff

13. ADJOURN TO DATE- at 11:26 am

*NOTE: Although the LTC generally strives to follow the agenda sequence, it reserves the right to take any agenda item – otherthan a noticed public hearing – in any order, and at any time after its meeting starts. The Local Transportation Commission encourages public attendance and participation.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, anyone who needs special assistance to attend this meeting can contact the commission secretary at 760-924-1804 within 48 hours prior to the meeting in order to ensure accessibility (see 42 USCS 12132, 28CFR 35.130).